Mental case.

Aristotle believed that the center for thought lies in the heart and that the brain helps cool the body.

You are laughing really hard -maybe not so hard- at his ignorance right now but you are probably as guilty of this foolishness as he was. I mentioned in the last paragraph of my previous post that the heart only pumps blood. Believe me, that’s pretty much all it does, the thumpety-thump rhythm that your heart seems to perform when you see him is the handiwork of some hormones whose secretions are controlled by your brain.

Moral lesson: cut your heart some slack, it’s your eyes that did the seeing, your mind did the loving up. You’re an intellectual being, you love intellectually.

This is somebody’s story, whether it is mine or not, I won’t say. I hope you enjoy it.

I was not in a trance
My senses were not suspended,
I knew exactly what I was doing.

All five senses were actively ticking,
Even my sixth sense was engaged
That dear phenomenon called intuition.

I saw what I liked
And decided to keep my eyes on it,
The reason is not important
What’s important is that I wasn’t forced.

There was no factor beyond my control,
It was my place to like and I did,
My duty to keep it at ‘like’, but I didn’t
It wasn’t ‘love at first sight’ as you folks term it,
It was a decision to love at first sight.

He didn’t barge into my heart
and refuse to leave,
I let him in and harbored him.
It wasn’t an amazing, uncontrollable event
But a conscious application of cause and effect.

Just the way you can’t keep birds from flying over your head,
But it’s your place to determine whether or not they nest,
I did not fall in love,
No, I walked right into it,
Eyes wide open.

….falling in love is not really falling, for it was you that did not catch yourself when you tripped.

3 thoughts on “Mental case.

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑